EFL experiment 3: PLN inspiration

So, Phil Wade had kindly asked me to start off his new experiment. Well, to be honest Phil started it when he contributed a video to my IATEFL presentation. See his blog for a far better explanation than I’m about to give. http://eflthoughtsandreflections.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/pln-inspiration/

Phil asked me to record a short video talking about someones blog that has inspired me. Not an easy choice, seeing as there a loads of great blogs out there and I seem to discover new ones every week. Eventually, I went for Dale Coulter’s blog, Language moments, which can be found here http://languagemoments.wordpress.com/

The video says it all, but this is one of the first blogs I ever started reading and would love to achieve this sort of standard one day. Cheers Dale. You’re up next!

Sorry for poor quality of image, but it’s the audio that is the most important. (There is a ten second intro before audio)

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “EFL experiment 3: PLN inspiration

  1. I remember coming up with the surfer idea, it must have been around this time last year sitting on a beach in Devon in unseasonably warm temperatures. Glad that it got through to people. The thing is, you often write in a blog and never really know what readers get out of it, if they get anything at all. That’s why I like Phil’s idea of doing a quick video on a blog that’s inspired you. I’m looking forward to posting my two cents’ worth as well.

    Cheers again, Adam.

    You too, Phil

  2. Good work guys! Phil for leading us all to think more and starting this project up, Adam for taking it on and creating a very sincere video that describes Dale’s blog so well, and Dale for having what is definitely one of the best ELT blogs out there.

    It’s such a pleasure to be able to “mix” with guys like you and to see that there’s so much mutual appreciation between you all.

    Keep up the good work!
    And have a good Monday!

    Jem

  3. I think Dale’s blog was the first one I ever read. I remember being happily surprised to find myself looking into a classroom with all the stages and language and outcomes laid bare. As well as these lessons his encouragement and ideas on reflective practice have been very influential on my teaching too. Thanks to all of you for sharing your thoughts and ideas. 🙂

  4. I came across Dale’s blog at a time when I had just fallen in love with teaching and decided it would be my career, rather than just a means to work and travel. I was so impressed and intimidated by what I read. How could a guy so new to teaching be so good? It really is fantastic for newer teachers to have guys like you and Dale to look up to.

    We can all be inspired by the Godfathers of ELT Scott Thornbury, Jeremy Harmer etc. However, as you mention in the video, having newer teachers like Dale show us we can reach such a high level so quickly is a great motivation and inspiration. I have probably read his and Phil Wade’s blog more than any others.

    Great idea by Phil and am looking forward to following the chain of inspirational teachers over the coming months. Could this experiment even last years?

  5. Apart from the inspirational aspect of Dale’s blog, I, like Adam, found the skeleton’s to be the missing link between the idea of Dogme and the actual reality. I don’t know why it was mentioned before but this should become part of what Dogme is.

    Another thing I got was boardwork. Dale’s is superb with no messy writing or crossing out. He seems to be able to plan very well mentally what and where he’s writing. I know he doesn’t do a boardplan but must have a mental picture of what he is and could put on the board.

    I also think he’s superb at improvising in an informed way. He pulls so many things out of his bag that are exactly needed but never repeats things. He seems to be free, like Adam, of a lot of the mental boundaries some of us have that cramp our creativity.

    Apart from Dale’s unbelievable way to post-analyse classes and then design an amazing frame to suit the next class, he is also constantly developing. I remember talking about getting wider experience with him last year and since then he’s thrown himself into YL classes and teacher training. He is the king of reflection and understands that the only way to improve is to put himself in challenging situations, reflect, research and then improve. Thus, he’s striking a perfect balance between experience, theory, action research, practical application and testing, reflection and assessment. He is a living incarnation of Allwright’s Exploratory Practice which goes further than reflective practice as it draws learners and colleagues into the development process.

  6. I’m a big fan of Dale’s blog as well.
    I love seeing how much he thinks about his lessons afterwards and I love the never ending drive to improve.
    The skeletons are great and I love how Dale shows that Dogme isn’t just a conversation class but is about working with the language, covers a syllabus just as well as a coursebook and does involve preparation.

  7. Oh yes Christopher.It’s hard work, a lot harder than some worksheets and a grammar lecture. Anyone thinking about or just wanting to know what Dogme is needs to check Dale’s blog. I really do think that Dogme is not to be found in any books but on blogs like Adam’s, Dale’s, Oli’s and Chiew’s. Chia also has some really good examples and Anthony too of teacher training. If you read these and then refer back to the principles of Dogme in Teaching Unplugged you get to see that everyone does it differently.

Leave a Reply

