Move, Eat and Learn

So I had ticked off listening from my to do list and the students want list. Now, it was time to move onto the video clips. Luckily for me, I already had something tucked away from a previously trialed lesson, late last year. So, it was just a matter of dusting off the old note pad and seeing what happened.

I asked the students to discuss this question:

If you could move anywhere in the world where would you go?

I wrote it on the board and asked if they recognised the structure. With some eliciting they got it and they began to discuss it with their partners. I listened in and noticed that the majority of the students had immediately reverted to using the word ‘go’ instead of ‘move’. I let it run and then we did pair feedback as a whole class. Error correction and some on the spot pronunciation. I then went to the board and pointed to the word ‘move’ and asked what the difference was between moving somewhere and going somewhere. There were lots of ‘aahs’ and nodding of heads, so I asked if this would change where they said they wanted to go.Instead of changing their answers they justified them by using some interesting bits of language;

“If I moved there I could find a job that links to my degree”

“I would move there because it has a better quality of life”

Now it was time for the video. I explained that they would see a man moving from country to country and I dictated two questions for them to answer while watch.

How does the man scare the pigeons?

What does the man jump over in the middle of the road? 

They checked the questions in pairs and we watched the video.

http://vimeo.com/27246366

We watched twice and checked the answers. It was surprising that most of the students didn’t know the word ‘clap’. We talked about the video and the places that they saw in the video. At the bottom of the video is some information about why the video was made and what it involved. I asked if anyone in the class would like to do the same and there was a resounding, yes.

Next questions:

When was the last time you learnt anything and what was it? 

If you had the chance to learn anything, what would it be?

These questions produced some really interesting answers. A lot of the students are at University, so they simply said what ever they had learnt in class that day. One student said that he learnt the word clap and another said he had learnt to change the oil in his car. I pointed out that the majority of things they had learnt was information and that only one person had actually learnt a skill, something that required them to use their hands. This led into a small discussion about whether or not what we learnt was really useful or not and led nicely into the second question.

Second video. Again two dictated questions, pair check and watch the video.

http://vimeo.com/27244727

Again, we talked about the video. The students picked out the things they would like to learn and we discussed them. We then moved onto the third and last question.

When was the last time you tried something new to eat?

Unfortunately, due to time running out we didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to discuss this part. Two more questions, pair check and the final video.

http://vimeo.com/27243869

It was safe to say that everybody left the lesson hungry, but more importantly everyone seemed to enjoy the lesson. Talking, listening and video, exactly what they wanted. I think it would be great to re watch the last video in the next lesson and launch into a food based lesson. It would be great to know what other people think of these videos and what you would do with them in class. Enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Move, Eat and Learn

  1. It’s interesting that your students reverted to “go” instead of “move” when you asked the first question; mine would’ve slipped into “will” instead of “would” – that’s for sure! It’s also interesting why you asked them to talk about moving to these places when the video is clearly about going (travelling) there. Otherwise, I liked the way you used the videos to build discussions around different topics. I would probably work more on the language, some useful chunks related to the topics, learn vs study etc. The use of hypothetical “Would” (or The Second conditional according to Pedagogic grammar) would (!) certainly be a problem for my students.
    Oh I am definitely hungry now. Off to make dinner…

    • Thanks for the comment Leo.

      I used ‘move’ instead of ‘go’ because i think I have asked that same question hundreds of times, and I’m pretty sure the students have been asked it just as many. I thought that by changing it the answers would be different and also it would be interesting to see how the students would interpret the word move or even if they would notice it in the question. Also, for me, when watching the video and the way it is made. the man seems to be moving frame by frame, rather than actually being filmed going from place to place. I guess it’s down to an individuals interpretation of the video. (i’m not sure if that explanation makes sense)
      We had covered the 2nd conditional before and my students are comfortable with its use, but I like your idea about the ‘learn vs study’. Something to bring up the next time I do the lesson.
      Thanks for stopping by. Apologies for the late reply.

      Adam

  2. Great videos to generate discussion and sounds like a great lesson for all involved. I wondered if there was an opportunity to make use of some modals here? – could/might/must have been.

    On the subject of food there’s some interesting videos on youtube involving people eating live octopus…

    • Thanks for the comment Josie.

      I would be interested to know how you would incorporate the use of modals. Perhaps for speculation? What with the video being short and very quick the students could speculate about the different foods he eats or different places he is filmed in. Maybe that would work.
      I will have to check out those videos. Sounds like the scene from ‘Old boy’, a great Japanese/Korean film that has a jaw dropping scene, involving the main actor devouring a whole octopus in one take.

      Sorry for the late reply. A lot of work on at the moment. Appreciate you stopping by.

      Adam

Leave a Reply

